Orchestra Series 2021–22 – Maui Chamber Orchestra

Maui Chamber Orchestra

May 7-8, 2022
Historic ʻIao Theater
Wailuku, Maui, Hawaiʻi


Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741)

from Le quattro stagioni (The Four Seasons)
Program Note

La primavera (Spring) – Concerto No. 1 in E major (Op. 8, RV 269)
    Largo e pianissimo sempre
    Allegro pastorale
L'inverno (Winter) – Concerto No. 4 in F minor (Op. 8, RV 297)
    Allegro non molto

Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992)

arr. Leonid Desyatnikov

from Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas
(The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires)
Program Note

Invierno Porteño (Buenos Aires Winter)
Primavera Porteña (Buenos Aires Spring)


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)

Symphony No. 2 in D Major (Op. 36)
Program Note

Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
Scherzo: Allegro
Allegro molto

This concert is sponsored by The Anderman Family Foundation

with additional support from Hawaiʻi Public Radio.


Ignace (“Iggy”) Jang
Guest Conductor and Violin Soloist

Violin I

Rachel Saul Schifino, Interim Concertmaster
Patrick Yim
Patrice Weed Shearer
Asia Doike
Arlene Koh
Joan Hayden

Violin II

Ae Kyong Yoon
Kaycee Parker
Alison Johnson
WenLu Duffy
Sojung Park
Simona Gronic


Teresa Skinner
Alexander Peña
Ruby Valentino
Aria Cuthbertson


Cheryl Lindley
Michelle Romero Ancheta
Ron Schecter


Delphina Dorrance
Sayuri Yamamoto


Peggy Schecter
JoAnna Byng


Jazlynn Woods
Sharon Nakama


Jeff Alfriend
Jerry Eisenberg


Nichole Kosar
Lukela Mahi


Meredith Moore
Dan Reisinger


Phillip Proctor
Cody Sarmiento


Peter Della Croce


Clayton Logue


The annual giving of individuals and foundations has been instrumental in advancing the artistry of the Maui Chamber Orchestra. The Annual Fund provides MCO’s single largest and most sustainable form of revenue, in addition to the many other forms of support we receive. The following list recognizes patrons who made contributions between December 2019 (our last full orchestra concert) and today.

We have given careful attention to ensure that the list is complete and accurate. If your name has been misspelled or omitted, please accept our apologies and inform us of the error by emailing info@mauichamberorchestra.org or calling 808-214-6371.

To contribute, visit mauichamberorchestra.org/donate-now or mail a check (payable to Maui Chamber Orchestra) to PO Box 1547, Kīhei HI 96753-1547.

* Sostenuto Club member, making automatic recurring donations

Sig Anderman
Anderman Family Foundation
* Judy Anderson
Robert Anderson
* Damon Austin
Walter Bissett & Bernard Foong
* Tracey Bloser
Craig Bode
* Bruce Bond
Susan Bradley
* Francesca Carey
Robert Chipman
* Lee Cone
* Elizabeth Current
Martin Diamond
Everett Dowling
* Lori Fisher
* Shaun Fleming
* Linda Freidenburg
Carol Fritz
* Linda Gilbertson
Karla Gillette
Dartlan Guille
Melissa Hampe
* Sarah Hofstadter
* Kristin Holmes
Donna Howard
Martha Ingalls
Christopher Jacobs
* Margaret King
* P. Denise La Costa
* Rona and Thomas Landrigan
* Elizabeth Leavitt
* Alexie Lee
Dean Leffingwell
Carol P. Lem
Micha'el Leventhal
* Jane Lovell
* Alice McDermott
* Jennifer Meyers & Arnold Jacobson
Wendy Miano
Jack Naiditch
Geoffrey Naylor
* Bonnie Newman
Gail Pickholz
Deborah Pozn
* Jeane Raine
Teena Rasmussen
Robert Riebling
Pearl Rockett
* Noralee and Tom Rockwell
* John Rowehl
Carolyn Schaefer
Christina Seefeldt
Jeanne Skog
* Charles Jay Slaughter
* Stephen Sussman
John & Susan Tomos
Miriam Trahan
* Frank & Cherry Urias
* Douglas Van Loan
Paula Ventura
Penny & Clyde Wakida
Susan Ward
* Pam Weaver
Susan Weihl
Madolin Wells
Luana Whitford-Mitchell
Nancy & Bill Worth

In-Kind Donations

Jeff Alfriend
Bruce Bond
Panna & Giovanni Cappelli
Janine & Mike Cuthbertson
Cheryl Lindley
Little Red Wagon
Jane Lovell
Alice & Joe McDermott
Seabury Hall
St. John’s Episcopal Church
Swan Interiors & Kristin Holmes

Maui Chamber Orchestra Board of Directors

Kristin Holmes, President
Tracey Bloser, Vice President
Damon Austin, Treasurer
Cherry Urias, Secretary
P. Denise La Costa, Director
Alice McDermott, Director
John Rowehl, Executive Director